Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I am so far behind with writing reviews. I have been terrible and I am planning to catch up as soon as possible. After I finish writing this review, I still have to write a review for 5 other books. I am actually ashamed at how far behind I am. Please forgive me.

“We meet fear. We greet the unexpected visitor and listen to what he has to tell us. When fear arrives, something is about to happen.

Crooked Kingdom is the second book in the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. It takes place in the Grishaverse. book takes place around 2 years after everything that happened in the Shadow and Bone trilogy. King of Scars takes places 1 year after the events that happen in the Six of Crows duology.

“I promise, Matthias. I’ll take you home.”
“Nina,” he said, pressing her hand to his heart. “I am already home.”

I always try to write my reviews as spoiler free as possible. Therefore, I won’t be able to discuss some of the most wonderful things that happen in this book. Also, a reminder to first read Six of Crows before reading this review, if you do not want any spoilers of the first book. It is impossible for me to not spoil anything from the first book. If you do wish to talk to me about these things, feel free to contact me directly on one of my social media accounts. I am most active on Instagram.

The Story

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

“You’re better than waffles, Matthias Helvar.”

Kaz Brekker and his crew of deadly outcasts have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives.

“I would come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together – knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”

Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties.

“Wait,” he said. The burn of his voice was rougher than usual. “Is my tie straight?”
Inej laughed, her hood falling back from her hair.
“That’s the laugh,” he murmured, but she was already setting off down the quay, her feet barely touching the ground.”

A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets – a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

My Thoughts

I did enjoy the overall plot of Six of Crows more than I did Crooked Kingdom. However, the twists and turn in this story were written so well. There were multiple occasion I was starting to panic because stuff was not happening like it should be, to then find out it was Kaz’s plan all along. Wow. Just wow.

Holy shit. Poor Inej. She really thinks she is of no value to Kaz if she were no longer able to be his Wraith. Inej, he is absolutely in love with you and though he might not admit it to himself, that will never stop him from going after you and rescuing you.

Honestly most of my thoughts about the writing in Six of Crows applies to Crooked Kingdom as well. This book definitely had a little more chaos and tension in it though. I think it was a great decision of Leigh to take that route. We knew it was unlikely they all made it out alive during the first book and Leigh let’s us know throughout the entire book, it might not be the case this time around.

Shit is about to go down and I am not sure I am ready for this.

There’s a lot of stuff going on with the characters in this book. We learn a little more about their backgrounds in this book, especially Wylan and Jesper. We also, finally get some romance actions between the characters, though I will not spoil anything about that.

Oh my gods. The plan just went horribly wrong, my heart is still recovering from it, and they’re all just like “Unlucky. New plan. Let’s go.” Please my little crows, be safe!!!!

I really like how Leigh wrote this in a little more chaotic manor. You can feel how desperate the characters are to reaching their goal and how important it is they succeed. And just like with the first book, we might think we have all the details, but boy are we wrong.

Wrap Up

I did not think I would like the second book more than the first, but I actually love it. The entire story was so well written, and I just couldn’t put it down from page 1 until the end. My heart broke, I shed tears and I laughed. Just wow! I give Crooked Kingdom 5 stars out of 5 stars. If you have not read this duology, I can do nothing else but recommend it.

“I have been made to protect you. Only in death will I be kept from this oath.”


Have you read Crooked Kingdom yet? What did you think of it? Did you read any of the other books in the Grishaverse? I hope you have a wonderful day and happy reading.


Leave a comment